We are precious…

The Lord sees the deepest parts of our hearts, and he hears our unspoken whispers. This is so vital for me to remember – me: a rather open and vulnerable person, who despite all of that still has unspoken hurts and insecurities. This morning, the Lord spoke directly into my heart. And I’d like to share His words of truth with you all, since I know that some of you are feeling the same way – that some of you struggle to believe the Lord’s immense love for you. I’ve been there too – and have found myself there again recently. But let these prophetic words of old speak fresh life over you today, restoring this “living hope” (1 Pet. 1:3).

1 But now thus says the Lord, he who created you, O Jacob, he who formed you, O Israel: Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are mine.

2 When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you; when you walk through the fire you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you.

3 For I am the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior. I give Egypt as your ransom, Cush and Seba in exchange for you.

4 Because you are precious in my eyes, and honored, and I love you, I give men in return for you, peoples in exchange for your life.

5 Fear not, for I am with you; I will bring your offspring from the east, and from the west I will gather you.

Isaiah 43:1-5

The Lord of all creation who created us in our mother’s wombs (Psalm 139) thinks we are precious and honored. He loves us and will give other men in exchange for our lives (Isaiah 43:4). He will fight for His beloved people (Exodus 14:14).

I am in awe that words that were written down for us long before Jesus Christ walked the earth, over 2000 years ago, are still able to bring life and peace to us today. Once again I see that God’s Word is accomplishing its purposes and will not return to Him empty (Isaiah 55:11). Because of His Word, we can rejoice in the Lord always and give thanks in all circumstances.

Leave a Reply

